Together We Can

Rahma Aly is a Special Olympics athlete from Cairo, Egypt. Along with her partner Farah Ghaffar, Rahma is representing Special Olympics Egypt at the 2013 Special Olympics Global Youth Activation Summit. Below is a speech Rahma developed and presented to her fellow Youth Activation Summit members.

IMG_0148I was honored to represent Special Olympics Egypt (the land of pharos) and to be chosen to attend the Global Youth Summit. I came here to pass a message of awareness, respect and friendship to all of you and to people who still believe that we are different.

Please allow me to introduce myself. I am Rahma. I am 16 years old and I have Down syndrome. I think we all know the scientific meaning of the word, it has been explained to us by people around us, maybe our doctors, our families or others who care. I am here with you now full of pride of who I am and everything I have done until now.

I truly think that the first step was my family who were brave enough to face the problem, and when you face a problem you must be true and frank to yourself.

Of course, you all want to know me. I am Rahma and I study at Alsun School for tourism and hotels year 2. I enjoy my study as it prepares me for my future work and career.

Also, I think it is very important to practice any kind of sport, I have chosen swimming to be my favorite. I practice it since I was four years old and I got my first medal at the age of 13.

I travelled to lots of different place – Syria, Lebanon and succeeded to get 4 medals – 2 gold, 1 silver and another bronze.

I am talking also to people who still believe we are different. We are not, we need only a chance and if we are given this opportunity, we will succeed.

Love, understanding, believing and willing to accept others, no matter how different they are is my message. Don’t consider us different, we are part of this society, we can help, participate and succeed.

Finally, I would like to thank all of you for being here. All who helped by advice or support, let us all repeat it strongly and clearly to the whole universe – love is the answer to all the problems of the world. Love fills us with courage, to face, to struggle, to be a part of the globe.

We are still and shall continue fighting to gain our rights.

We are here and together we can.

We are here and together we can.

IMG_0145

2 thoughts on “Together We Can

Leave a Reply

