Reflections on the GYAS from Ben and Sarah

 

GYAS Friends

Sarah:

Beginning to describe the incredible ways in which the Global Youth Activation Summit has impacted me proves itself to be a difficult task. The first moment when I walked into the Stratos Hotel I was met by welcoming, smiling faces and intertwined into a community of inspired, motivated, determined, and powerful people. Everyone had so much in common that we clicked right away. Optimism, leadership, respect, and empowerment gave us a common platform to build friendships that will last a lifetime. 

I was blown away by how each group presented their ideas in unique styles and in their native language. Witnessing the diversity of Project Unify showed me that the whole world is ready to lead a dignity revolution. I am thrilled for what is to come on an international level as well as the upcoming projects Ben and I are starting back in Colorado. The youth are not just going to be leaders tomorrow, we are leaders now! We are changing the world!

Ben and I wish to be involved with future Global Youth Activation Summits; however, as I realize we will not be “youth” forever, we are going to go where ever the summer games take us, for as long as possible. I would like to make it a tradition to go to every World Summer Games from now on. It is easy for me to say that the GYAS was one of the best experiences of my life. Ime mesa!

Ben and Tyler

Ben:

Hi my name is Ben Barnhart and I am from Colorado. I liked going around to all of the competitions and watching the young athletes program to get more information about it so that we can bring it back to Denver.

I liked making a lot of new friends. All of my friends were very kind and helpful when I needed it. I loved having breakfast with them. It was hard to say goodbye.

It was a pleasure to have Tim Shriver at our table for the Conversation Series. We gave each other good ideas that we will bring back to Colorado.

The opening ceremonies had good singers and dancers and lots of fireworks. Walking into the stadium with the crowd cheering was so cool because I got to be with my friends and wave at the people cheering for me.

I would like to come back to another World Games and participate in another GYAS because it was a good experience in my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by sarahgyas. Bookmark the permalink.

About sarahgyas

My name is Sarah Barnhart, I'm going into my junior year in Cherry Creek High School in Colorado. I've partnered in Special Olympics since i was 9 and I am now almost 16. My brother Ben is attending the Global Youth Activation summit with me in Athens, Greece from June 22 to July 5. I hope you all enjoy our posts!

Leave a Reply

